Ry Cooder - Election Special LP + CD

Features: • Vinyl LP • Includes Full CD • Mastered by Martin... Learn More

Availability: In stock


Mastered by Martin Pradler and Pressed at Pallas!

Includes Full CD of Album!

Election Special the album is a wake-up call for the 2012 U.S. fall election season.

Ry Cooder produced the album and wrote all of the songs. ("Take Your Hands off It" was co-written with Joachim Cooder). He sings and plays mandolin, guitar, and bass on the album, with Joachim on drums. Arnold McCuller sings harmony vocals on "Take Your Hands off It."

Ry Cooder joined TIME's Joe Klein on the columnist's road trip across the US. talking to Americans about the state of the nation. It's something to which Cooder is particularly attuned, given the subject of his album, Election Special. "Ry Cooder has provided much of the sound track of my life," writes Klein. "He's been writing political songs in recent years, and unlike most in that often-too-obvious genre, each is musically exquisite."


• Vinyl LP

• Includes Full CD

• Mastered by Martin Pradler at Wireland Studios, Chatsworth, CA and Drive-By Studios, North Hollywood, CA

• Pressed at Pallas

• Stoughton direct to board jacket with insert


Ry Cooder, vocals, guitars, mandolin, bass

Joachim Cooder, drums

Arnold McCuller, harmony vocals (9)


Side A:

1. Mutt Romney Blues

2. Brother Is Gone

3. The Wall Street Part of Town

4. Guantanamo

5. Cold Cold Feeling

Side B:

1. Going To Tampa

2. Kool-Aid

3. The 90 and the 9

4. Take Your Hands Off It

Additional Information

Record Label Nonesuch
Music Genre Jazz