Pink Floyd - The Division Bell

• 180g Vinyl... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Remastered by Doug Sax from the Original Analog Tapes at The Mastering Lab!
180g Vinyl Double LP Features New Artwork!

Rolling Stone 2015 Readers' Poll: The 10 Best Jam Bands: Pink Floyd Rated 9th!

Pink Floyd reissues the 1994 multi-million selling album The Division Bell on 180g Vinyl Double LP. 'The Division Bell' was the last studio album to be released by the band: David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright.

Some bands turn into shorthand for a certain sound or style, and Pink Floyd belongs among that elite group. The very name connotes something specific: an elastic, echoing, mind-bending sound that evokes the chasms of space. Pink Floyd grounded that limitless sound with exacting explorations of mundane matters of ego, mind, memory, and heart, touching upon madness, alienation, narcissism, and society on their concept albums of the '70s. Of these concept albums, Dark Side of the Moon resonated strongest, earning new audiences year after year, decade after a decade, and its longevity makes sense. That 1973 concept album distilled the wild psychedelic of their early years -- that brief, heady period when they were fronted by Syd Barrett-- into a slow, sculpted, widescreen epic masterminded by Roger Waters, the bassist who was the band's de facto leader in the '70s. Waters fueled the band's golden years, conceiving such epics as Wish You Were Here and The Wall, but the band survived his departure in the '80s, with guitarist David Gilmour stepping to forefront on A Momentary Lapse of Reason and The Division Bell. Throughout the years, drummer Nick Mason and keyboardist Rick Wright appeared in some capacity, and the band's sonic signature was always evident: a wide, expansive sound that was instantly recognizable as their own yet was adopted by all manner of bands, from guitar-worshipping metal-heads to freaky, hippie, ambient electronic duos. Unlike almost any of their peers, Pink Floyd played to both sides of the aisle: they were rooted in the blues but their heart belonged to the future, a dichotomy that made them a quintessentially modern 20th century band.

"The Division Bell wasn't just a return to Pink Floyd's earlier, more free-flowing psych-rock songcraft. Released 20 years ago on March 28, 1994, the project also marked Floyd's last truly collaborative moment, as remaining members David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Rick Wright rekindled something that appeared lost with Roger Waters' departure.

"Populated by long keyboard moments, these echoing, sustained guitar chords and segmented song-cycles effortlessly flowing into one another, "The Division Bell" plays like a long, slow exhale after the Waters-era novelization of Floyd on albums like "The Wall" and "The Final Cut". If the songs often weren't as narratively strong, the music itself portrayed a renewed sense of musical camaraderie...

"Named for the bell that rings in the houses of Parliament to summon members for a vote, ‘The Division Bell’ started in an appropriate enough manner: With Gilmour, Mason and Wright sorting through ideas in loose jam sessions. Eventually, they had as many as 65 total pieces of music, before winnowing it down first to 25 or so, and then down to a final running order. “I think that was the best idea,” Wright told MTV at the time. “In the beginning, we went and played for two weeks. So, it really was music straight from Dave, myself and Nick.”

"Lyrics were added through a collaborative effort with Gilmour’s new wife Polly Samson, a published author, while the production team included long-time Floyd collaborators like producer Bob Ezrin and saxophonist Dick Perry. The multi-platinum ‘The Division Bell’ topped the charts in both the U.S. and U.K.. A huge world-wide tour followed, as did a Grammy award for the instrumental “Marooned.”"
-, March 28, 2014

• 180g Vinyl • Double LP
• Remastered by James Guthrie, Joel Plante and Doug Sax from the Original Analog Tapes !
• Double LP Album features full-length tracks for the first time! (Original Edit was to fit on a Single LP)
• New Artwork designed by Hipgnosis/StormStudios (2014)
• Gatefold Sleeve
• Remastered

1. Cluster One
2. What Do You Want From Me
3. Poles Apart
4. Marooned
5. A Great Day For Freedom
6. Wearing the Inside Out
7. Take It Back
8. Coming Back to Life
9. Keep Talking
10. Lost For Words
11. High Hopes

Additional Information

Record Label Warner Bros.
Music Genre Pop - Rock