Nathan Davis Sextet - Peace Treaty

Limited edition 180-gram vinyl reissue

Pressed... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Limited edition 180-gram vinyl reissue

Pressed at Pallas in Germany

"One of the first true moments of genius from saxophonist Nathan Davis — a mid 60s European session cut for the tiny SFP label — and a record that's even rarer than his early classics for MPS! The sound here is similar to the MPS sides — a mixture of soul jazz and modal jazz — served up with a bit more freedoms than Davis might have gotten on the US scene, and featuring a lineup that includes Woody Shaw on trumpet, Jean-Louis Chautemps on baritone sax, Rene Urtreger on piano, Jimmy Woode on bass, and Kenny Clarke on drums. The tight rhythm of Woode and Clarke is a nice counterpoint to the modernism of Davis and Shaw — Davis works a bit on soprano, which sounds especially great!" — Dusty Groove

Recorded May 6, 1965 at Studio de la Comédie des Champs Elysées. Paris.

Bobby Jaspar, tenor and soprano saxophone
Woody Shaw, trumpet
Jean-Louis Chautemps, baritone saxophone
René Urtreger, piano
Jimmy Woode, bass
Kenny Clarke, drums

Side 1
    1. Klook’s Theme
    2. Peace Treaty
    3. Now Let M’ tell Ya
Side 2
    1. Sconsolato
    2. Ruby My Dear
    3. Kansas City Special

Additional Information

Record Label Sam Records
Music Genre Jazz