Joan Armatrading - Joan Armatrading



Availability: In stock


180g Ultra-Quiet Vinyl Pressed at RTI!
Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!
100% Analog Mastering From Real Analog Tapes!

1976 Self-Titled Classic on 180g Vinyl!

Intervention Records is absolutely thrilled to introduce another classic record in its (Re)Discover Series, Joan Armatrading's 1976 Self-Titled classic on 180g vinyl .

Produced and recorded by legend Glyn Johns, Joan Armatrading is the breakout record that saw Joan assume full command of her extraordinary talents and leap to the forefront of rock's great female stars. A soulful, soaring voice and a powerful and evocative songwriter. The smash hits include "Love and Affection," "Down to Zero," and "Somebody Who Loves You."

Joan Armatrading's 180-gram LP is 100% Analog Mastered by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio from the best source available- phenomenal-sounding 1/2" safety copy of the original stereo master tape. The remastering is amazing! Thanks to Glyn Johns' recording and production work, Joan's vocals and guitar playing have never sounded so rich, resonant and dynamic. This is an audiophile demo disc all the way, with depth, realism and a breathing dimensionality.

The album art is beautifully restored by IR's Tom Vadakan and housed in a film-laminated, Old Style "Tip-On" single-gatefold jacket printed by Stoughton.

"One of the finest talents I have ever had the good fortune to work with ..." -Producer Glyn Johns
"... her voice is ageless, her powers are undiminished." -The Guardian
There's more bass on the new LP, more depth to the vocals, and less sibilance - but the new version is also darker-sounding, a little more closed-in. If you don't know Joan, she's worth discovering, and if you're an old fan with original copies - well, what vinyl fan ever said on their death bed, 'I wish I'd bought fewer records'? -Jim Austin, Stereophile, November 2020


  • 100% Analog Mastering From 1/2" Safety Copy of Original Stereo Master Tape
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent
  • Ultra-Quiet 180g Vinyl
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Album Art Beautifully Restored by Tom Vadakan
  • Old Style Tip-on Gatefold Jacket Art printed by Stoughton


Side One:

  1. Down To Zero
  2. Help Yourself
  3. Water With The Wine
  4. Love And Affection
  5. Save Me

Side Two:

  1. Join The Boys
  2. People
  3. Somebody Who Loves You
  4. Like Fire
  5. Tall In The Saddle

Additional Information

Record Label Intervention
Music Genre Pop - Rock