Charles Aznavour - Collected

• 180 gram Audiophile Vinyl Learn More


Availability: In stock


180g Audiophile Vinyl Triple LP!
Numbered, Limited Edition "French Flag" Blue, White & Red Vinyl - Only 1500 Copies!
Includes 4-Page Booklet With Liner Notes!

Music On Vinyl proudly presents a second release of the COLLECTED albums. The new albums will focus on memorable artists with almost a life span of original intriguing music, covering a timeless musical period!

In the early 1950s a man of short stature attempts to win over his audience. With a hoarse voice he delivers songs that do not catch on. People jeer at him. Tomatoes fly through the air. The Frenchman with Armenian roots slinks off the stage, but does not quit.

Ironically, the song that makes him a household name is the song in which he recalls his agonizing trial. The audience reacted indifferently when Charles Aznavour decided to try out his new song on stage. But when he went on to greet the audience for one final time they all stood and gave him a thundering standing ovation.

In the sixties, hits and classics succeed one another. Nobody is bothered any more by his husky voice, by his small stature or his rugged characterful face. The croony "For Me Formidable" (1963), the heart breaking "Et Pourtant" (1963) and the nostalgic "Hier Encore" (1964) confirm his standing as a fan favourite. "La Bohème" (1965) and "Emmenez-moi" (1967) turn Aznavour into a superstar.

In "La Bohème", there are impressionist painters strolling in the shadows of the Sacré-Coeur, the compelling "Comme Ils Dissent" (1972) is the first chanson after Vichy France to overtly endorse homosexuality and in the present "France Of La Manif Pour Tous" (the movement that opposes gay marriage), does it again to sound particularly topical. "Camarade" (1977) was about the nomenklatura, the ruling elite in the Soviet Union and is a social and historical topic. "Avec Un Brin De Nostalgie" is an Aznavour grand cru, maybe even the best he has made over the last thirty years.

COLLECTED by Charles Aznavour is a wonderful collection of hits and classic by the French artist that touches your soul at every moment. It's an overview of his work during the sixties, seventies and duets with Johnny Hallyday on "Il Faut Savoir" and with Frank Sinatra "Young At Heart". Also his English versions of "How Sad Venice Can Be", "The Old Fashioned Way", "She" and four more English songs are included on this deluxe Trifold 3LP album.

• 180 gram Audiophile Vinyl
• Triple LP
• Trifold sleeve
• High quality PVC protective sleeve
• 4-page booklet with liner notes and photos
• Duets with Frank Sinatra, Johnny Hallyday and his English versions
• Limited first pressing of 1500 individually numbered copies on "French Flag" blue, white and red vinyl

Side One:

1. Jezebel
2. Parce Que
3. Les Deux Guitares
4. Je m'voyais Déjà
5. Il Faut Savoir
6. Les Comédiens
7. La Mamma
8. Sa Jeunesse Entre Ses Mains
9. Et Pourtant

Side Two:
1. For Me Formidable
2. Sur Ma Vie
3. A Ma Fille
4. Que C'est Triste Venise
5. Une Enfant
6. Hier Encore
7. Au Printemps Tu Reviendras
8. La Bohème
9. Paris Au Mois d'Août

Side Three:
1. Tout s'en Va
2. Emmenez-Moi
3. Le Cabotin
4. Non Je n'ai Rien Oublié
5. Mourir d'aimer
6. Les Plaisirs Démodés

Side Four:
1. Comme Ils Disent
2. A Ma Femme
3. Tous Les Visages De L'amour
4. Mes Emmerdes
5. J'ai Vu Paris
6. Toi Et Moi
7. Je t'aime A I M E

Side Five:
1. Avec Un Brin De Nostalgie
2. Tomorrow Is My Turn (L'Amour c'est Comme Un Jour)
3. How Sad Venice Can Be (Que c'est Triste Venise)
4. The Old Fashioned Way (Les Plaisirs Démodés)
5. The "I Love You" Song (Je t'aime)
6. She (Tous Les Visages De L'amour)
7. Yesterday When I Was Young (Hier Encore)
8. I'll Be There (Ca Passe)

Side Six:
1. La Légende De Stenka Razine (With Les Compagnons De La Chanson)
2. Je Voyage (With Katia Aznavour)
3. Il Faut Savoir (With Johnny Hallyday)
4. Young At Heart (With Frank Sinatra)
5. J'aime Paris Au Mois De Mai (With Zaz)
6. Ave Maria

Additional Information

Record Label Music On Vinyl
Music Genre World