Jacintha - The Girl From Bossa Nova

Douyble 45 rpm Vinyl Record Learn More

Availability: Out of stock


Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the November 2004 Issue of Stereophile! Jacintha picks up the tempo in her first bossa nova session. Featuring a program of some of the most well known classics of the genre including several Jobim favorites like So Nice, Desafinado, Dindi, Corcovado, as well as less familiar tunes like O Ganso and So Danco Samba, The Girl From Bossa Nova is a striking change of pace for Jacintha that will enthrall all of her fans. With superb solos from tenor Harry Allen and acoustic guitar from John Pisano (ex-Diane Krall), the album is given the supreme finishing touch by the magical playing of Brazilian master percussionist P. D Costa who's recorded and performed with all the legends - Jobim, J Gilberto, Gilberto Gil, Astrid etc. His contribution truly gives the entire album it's authentic bossa nova vibe. And yes, there are a couple of classic Jacintha ballads done bossa style -- This Masquerade and Dindi. A must buy for Jacintha fans and all bossa nova lovers. Recorded at Oceanway/Record One on February 19th & 20th, 2004 on 2 inch multitrack at 15 ips. Mixed direct to DSD and 2-track 1/4 inch analogue by Joe Harley and Michael Ross at LA-EFX on February 21st, 22nd and 23rd. "Until you’ve heard this LP, you have no idea just how significant a singer Jacintha truly is. Here, she sounds alive -- in-the-room real. It’s almost spooky. And this allows you to get a feel for how she sets up a line, using subtle inflection and/or minor variation of pitch and tempo to make each syllable come alive. She never forces her way, always remembering the gentleness of the Bossa Nova; instead she carefully and confidently navigates her way through with unerring accuracy. She sings these Brazilian songs like a native, a real testament to her talent." - John Crossett, Soundstage Musicians: Jacintha, vocals Bill Cunliffe, piano, arrangements Darek Oleszkiewicz, bass Tim Pleasant, drums Harry Allen, tenor saxophone John Pisano, guitar Paolihno Da Costa, percussion Produced by Joe Harley Co-produced by Ying Tan Recorded and Mixed by Michael C. Ross Mastered by Bernie Grundman Selections: 1. O Ganso 2. So Danco Samba 3. Dindi 4. Once I Loved 5. Desafinado 6. So Nice 7. Wave 8. How Insensitive 9. Corcovado 10.Waters Of March

Additional Information

Record Label Groove Note
Music Genre Vocalist