Hugh Masekela - Hope

• 200g Vinyl
&bull... Learn More


Availability: Out of stock


200g Vinyl Plated & Pressed At Quality Record Pressings!
Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio From Original Analog Tape!
Now On 33 1/3 As Originally Recorded With All Tracks Included!

The Analogue Productions reissue of Hugh Masekela's masterpiece Hope, now available on 33 1/3 LP. Mastering from Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio; 200-gram knock-your-socks-off silent heavyweight vinyl plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings. The ultimate.

A longtime audiophile demonstration disc, Hope will show off your system's dynamic range as well as any record ever released. Hugh Masekela, the outstanding South African trumpeter, assembled a seven-piece group and recorded this great set live at Washington, D.C.'s Blues Alley. The songs stretch over a period of nearly five decades and serve as an informal guided tour of Masekela's life. The songs are honest and bare, and as for the sound — WOW!

Unlike a prior 45rpm version that included seven songs, this 33 1/3 reissue contains the full program as originally recorded with all 12 tracks included! Plus, as an added bonus, we've included a special insert — featuring an exclusive interview with Grammy/Emmy Award-winning engineer David Hewitt, who recorded Hope originally.

"...Hope is one of those intensely visceral, large as life, and immediately present recordings that will make pretty much any system sound at least very good, and will cause better ones to raise goose bumps." - Wayne Garcia, The Absolute Sound, August 2008

"...The high quality original mix plus Analogue Productions' superb mastering has resulted in a terrific, very transparent sonic with great impact." - John Henry, Audiophile Audition

• 200g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Plated & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Mastered from Original Analog Tape
• Now on 33 1/3 as originally recorded with all tracks included
• Gatefold tip-on jacket by Stoughton Printing
• Includes insert containing interview with David Hewitt, original recording engineer for Hope

Side 1:

1. Abangoma (The Healers)
2. Uptownship
3. Mandela (Bring Him Back Home!)
4. Grazin' In The Grass

Side 2:
1. Lady
2. Until When
3. Languta

Side 3:
1. Nomali
2. Marketplace
3. Ntyilo Ntyilo (The Love Bird)

Side 4:
1. Ha Le Se (The Dowry Song)
2. Stimela (The Coal Train)

Additional Information

Record Label Analogue Productions
Music Genre Jazz