Henry Mancini - Peter Gunn From The NBC Television Series

• Limited Edition
• 200g... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Limited Edition 200g 45rpm Double LP Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
Mastered at Sterling Sound by Ryan Smith From Analog Tapes!

This is not only a great LP but a key piece of jazz and pop music history. Back in 1958, "Peter Gunn" was one of the unexpected hits of the new television season, capturing the imagination of millions of viewers by mixing private eye action with a jazz setting. Composer Henry Mancini was more than fluent in jazz, and his music nailed down the popularity of the series. With the main title theme, a driving, ominous, exciting piece of music to lead off the album, The Music From Peter Gunn became a huge hit, charting extraordinarily high for a television soundtrack and doing so well that RCA Victor came back the next year asking for a second helping (More Music From Peter Gunn) from Mancini.

The music holds up: "Session At Pete's Pad" is a superb workout for trumpets of Pete Candoli, Uan Rasey, Conrad Gozzo and Frank Beach, while Barney Kessel's electric guitar gets the spotlight during "Dreamsville." "Sorta Blue" and "Fallout" are full-ensemble pieces that constitute quintessential "cool" West Coast jazz of the period. Now The Music From Peter Gunn is back bigger and better than ever with the deluxe Analogue Productions treatment — remastered from the original analog tape by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound, cut at 45 RPM, plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings. Then packaged in deluxe tip-on gatefold jackets from Stoughton Printing. A great title, a brilliant reissue. Exceptional!

• Limited Edition
• 200g Vinyl
• 45rpm
• Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Mastered at Sterling Sound by Ryan Smith From Analog Tapes
• Double LP
• Deluxe Tip-on Gatefold Jacket by Stoughton printing

LP 1
Side 1:

1. Peter Gunn
2. Sorta Blue
3. The Brothers Go To Mother's
Side 2:
4. Dreamsville
5. Session at Pete's Pad
6. Soft Sounds

LP 2
Side 3:

1. Fallout!
2. The Floater
3. Slow and Easy
Side 4:
4. A Profound Gass
5. Brief and Breezy
6. Not From Dixie

Additional Information

Record Label Analogue Production (RCA Living Stereo)
Music Genre Classicals