Toots Thielemans - Yesterday and Today

Features: • 180 Gram Vinyl • Double LP Learn More

Availability: In stock


Toots Thielemans is considered One of the Greatest Harmonica Players in the World! Double LP Features McCoy Tyner, Clark Terry, Elvin Jones, Herbie Hancock, & More!

This double LP may well contain the best Toots Thielemans you never heard. A stunning collection of both rare and great music, starting with his earliest recording as a soloist and ending with a memorable duet in the new millennium.

Producer Cees Schrama, a personal friend, selected all these treasures, looking for recordings that follow Toots' long and impressive career and are hard or simply impossible to purchase on record. Some of the tracks - for example the 1946 recording, initially made as a soundtrack for a cartoon - were never issued anywhere. Others - among them the tracks with George Shearing - were issued on singles and then disappeared.

Toots started out as a Django-inspired guitarist but became instantly recognizable when he started whistling along with his guitar improvisations. More fame came when listeners, musicians and producers discovered he was turning the chromatic harmonica into a serious jazz instrument.

Thielemans, nowadays, is almost universally loved as a harmonica-star. It took a while, though, before he became a household name. The first tracks follow his development in his first years as a professional musician.

The world's most renowned musicians have participated with Toots Thielemans over the past 60 years. Among them in this package: Svend Asmussen, Francy Boland, Bob Brookmeyer, Ralph Burns, Ron Carter, Bruno Castellucci, Al Cohn, Louis van Dijk, Rob Franken, Urbie Green, Herbie Hancock, Shirley Horn, Dick Hyman, J.J. Johnson, Marc Johnson, Elvin Jones, Hank JOnes, Quincy Jones, Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen, Bucky Pizzarelli, Elis Regina, George Shearing, Zoot Sims, Ricardo Silvera, Sivuca, Reinhold Svensson, Grady Tate, Art Taylor, Clark Terry, Cal Tjader, McCoy Tyner, Doug Watkins, Kenny Werner and more!


• 180 Gram Vinyl

• Double LP


1. Jazz Band Ball

2. Crazy Bop

3. It Had To Be "Bird"

4. Nalen Boogie

5. Red Devils Boogie

6. Dynamite

7. Cool and Easy

8. Melancholic Harmonica

9. Yesterday and Today

10. O Susannah

11. Barquinho

12. Mr. Nashville

13. Chump Change

14. Love Theme from "The Getaway"

15. That Misty Red Animal

16. Big Bossa

17. The Late Night Wizard

18. Bye Bye Blackbird

19. Out of Nowhere

20. What Kind of Fool Am I

21. Someone To Watch Over Me

22. What A Wonderful World

...and more!

Total playing time, 142 minutes.

Additional Information

Record Label Out of Blue
Music Genre Pop - Rock