The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band Twenty Years of Dirt - The Best of The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

• 180g Vinyl
&bull... Learn More


Availability: In stock


180g Vinyl Reissue Cut from the Original Masters!

The Twenty Years of Dirt - The Best of The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band collection compiles hits from the group's 20 year career from 1966 to 1986. The album contained the then-new song "Stand A Little Rain" which reached #5 on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart for the country-folk-rock group. The album reached #10 on the US Country charts and went Platinum.

"1986 marks our twentieth year of performing together as the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. We hope you'll celebrate with us and enjoy what we in the band feel are some of the recorded highlights of a career and a tradition you helped us to build," said the band when the album was released.

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band is an American country-folk-rock band that has existed in various forms since its founding in Long Beach, California in 1966. The group's membership has had at least a dozen changes over the years, including a period from 1976 to 1981 when the band performed and recorded as The Dirt Band. Constant members since the early times are singer-guitarist Jeff Hanna and drummer Jimmie Fadden. Multi-instrumentalist John McEuen was with the band from 1966 to 1986 and returned during 2001. Keyboardist Bob Carpenter joined the band in 1977. The band is often cited as instrumental to the progression of contemporary country and roots music.

" does do a good job at bunching their best commercial years onto one album." -Mike DeGagne,

• 180g Vinyl
• Cut from the original masters
• Includes free digital download

Bob Carpenter
Jimmie Fadden
Jeff Hanna
Jim Ibbotson
John McEuen
Nicolette Larson (4)

Side One:

1. Mr. Bojangles
2. Ripplin' Waters
3. American Dream
4. Make A Little Magic
5. Fire In the Sky

Side Two:
1. Dance Little Jean
2. Long Hard Road (The Sharecropper's Dream)
3. High Horse
4. Modern Day Romance
5. Partners, Brothers and Friends
6. Stand A Little Rain

Additional Information

Record Label WEA
Music Genre Country