Sonic Youth - Bad Moon Rising (Black Vinyl)


• Audiophile Quality 180g vinyl reissue by... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Premium High-Quality-ORG reissue 180g Vinyl Mastered by John Golden!

Sonic Youth's second studio album, Bad Moon Rising, was chosen by the Alternative Press as one of the best albums of 1985-1995 at number 42.

Sonic Youth is an American rock band from New York City, formed in 1981. In their early career, Sonic Youth was associated with the No Wave art and music scene in New York City. Part of the first wave of American noise rock groups, the band carried out their interpretation of the hardcore punk ethos throughout the evolving American underground that focused more on the DIY ethic of the genre rather than its specific sound. As a result, some consider Sonic Youth as pivotal in the rise of the alternative rock movement. The band has experienced success and critical acclaim throughout the last few decades, continuing into the new millennium, including signing to major label DGC in 1990, and headlining the 1995 Lollapalooza festival. Sonic Youth have expressed a wide variety of influences, ranging from the influential protopunk musician Patti Smith to composer John Cage. The band has redefined the usage of rock guitar, utilizing a wide variety of unorthodox tunings, and preparing guitars with objects like drumsticks and screwdrivers to alter the instrument's timbre.

An album quite unlike any other in the colorful Sonic Youth canon, Bad Moon Rising captures the New York band in 1985 during its most morose phase, one that is quite forbidding yet fascinating all the same. The proper album is an eight-song tapestry of droning guitar feedback, distant clattering percussion, and dreamy vocal mumblings, all of it woven together by sullen interludes of ambient noise.

It's a piercing capstone to an otherwise hazy album and is no doubt one of the highlights of Sonic Youth's overall output.


• Audiophile Quality 180g vinyl from Pallace Group and Furnace, Mfg.

• The 25th Anniversary Edition (1985-2010)

• Mastered by John Golden

• Mastered from the original analog tapes

• Includes original insert

• Re-issue for the first time in over a decade!


1. Intro

2. Brave Men Run

3. Society Is a Hole

4. I Love Her All the Time

5. Ghost B*tch

6. I'm Insane

7. Justice Is Might

8. Death Valley '69 (with Lydia Lunch)

Additional Information

Record Label ORG - Original Recordings Group
Music Genre Alternative Music