Features: • 1/2 Speed Mastering by Stan Ricker • Limited Edition... Learn More

Availability: In stock


Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the May 2007 Issue of Stereophile!

Half-Speed Mastered by Stan Ricker!

Grammy nominated singer Karrin Allyson has never been satisfied merely to repeat herself. With Footprints she fulfills the dream of recording with two of her vocal heroes — Jon Hendricks and Nancy King — while illustrating that she too is undeniably one of today's most distinctive and masterful jazz vocal stylists. The album also introduces Chris Caswell, whose literate, inventive new lyrics bring fresh perspectives to several of the modern jazz perennials featured herein. With a spirit that is, by turns, ebullient and affecting: Footprints shows Karrin Allyson to be a pacesetter among contemporary jazz singers.


• 1/2 Speed Mastering by Stan Ricker

• Limited Edition 2-LP Set

• Deluxe Inner Sleeves

• HQ-180 Gram Vinyl

• Limited Edition, Numbered

• Black Vinyl


Karrin Allyson- vocals, piano (LP1-6), shaker (LP1-1)

Jon Hendricks - vocals (LP1-5,LP2-6), whistle solo (LP1-5)

Nancy King - vocals (LP1-2,4,7, LP2-1,2,6)

Bruce Barth - piano, Fender Rhodes (LP1-6)

Peter Washington - bass

Todd Strait - drums

Frank Wess - tenor saxophone (LP1-3, LP2-3), flute (LP2-4)

Nick Phillips - trumpet (LP1-7)


LP 1

1. Something Worth Waiting For (Con Alma)

2. All You Need to Say (Never Say Yes)

3. Lightning (Lazy Bird)

4. A Long Way to Go (Equinox)

5. Strollin'

6. I Found the Turnaround (The Turnaround)

7. Follow the Footprints (Footprints)

LP 2

1. Life Is a Groove (Jordu)

2. A Tree and Me

3. I Can't Say (Teaneck)

4. But I Was Cool

5. Give Me a Break (Unit 7)

6. Everybody's Boppin'

Bonus Tracks:

7. The Duke

8. Airegin

Product Reviews:

"Of all the jazz divas singing today, Karrin Allyson reminds me the most of a mother singing lullabies to her child. She has one of the most tender, knowing voices I've ever heard. Each song she sings sounds as if she is giving a private recital. Footprints is Karrin Allyson's dream album. Not only did she get the chance to sing with musicians she had long admired, such as bassist Peter Washington, tenor sax man Frank Wess, and vocalists Jon Hendricks and Nancy King, but she was able to create a vocal album from numbers that had been strictly instrumental." - John Crossett, Soundstage.com

"Another aspect of Footprints that aids in the intimate feel is the sound. The LP is half-speed mastered by the legendary Stan Ricker, so you hear Allyson's voice with startling realism. This album exudes a quiet, confident sound that transports the listener to Sear Sound Recording Studio, where Allyson made this recording for Concord Records. The four dead-silent 180-gram surfaces allow all information embedded in the grooves to blossom -- yes, this is another of those single albums stretched over four sides. Combine all this with a wide, deep soundstage, excellent tonal balance, and good timbre and you get instruments that bloom fully in your listening room." - John Crossett, Soundstage.com

"Pure Audiophile's practice of stretching a single album out over four LP sides ensures that all the music in the grooves -- from the deepest bass notes to the highest treble transient -- comes alive. Yes, you might think these records are a tad on the expensive side, but when you factor in all you get for your money the cost doesn't seem at all out of line. This version of Footprints is poised to become an instant audiophile classic. Don't miss it." - John Crossett, Soundstage.com

Additional Information

Record Label Pure Audiophile
Music Genre Jazz