Ernest Ansermet - Lalo: Symphonie Espagnole/ Ravel: Tzigane/ Ruggiero Ricci, violin

• 180 Gram Virgin... Learn More


Availability: In stock


180 Gram Virgin Vinyl! High Quality Pressing!

Whenever the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande and Ernest Ansermet, their conductor of many years standing, entered the hall for a recording session, all lovers of high quality LPs looked forward to yet another addition to their collection. And when this wonderful ensemble was joined by such a unique artist as Ruggiero Ricci, who had appeared in the Carnegie Hall at the early age of nine, then their joy knew no bounds. The present re-release offers all fans of fiery rhythms and sumptous symphonic sound a wonderful opportunity to revel in a musical treat of audiophile quality.

Lalo’s highly virtuosic and therefore seldom performed Symphonie espagnole glows with a rich sound palette full of southern temperament as only a large orchestra can. Ruggiero Ricci rivets the listener’s attention with his pithy tone, his amazing cascades of sound and melancholy gypsy melodies. For all those who cannot get enough of Ricci’s captivating playing, a brilliant encore is provided by Ravel’s Tzigane – a true showpiece of 20th-century violin repertory. Sheer delight for the ears and the soul – and certainly not limited to fans of virtuoso violin playing.

Ricci produces the fullest range of color in a work demanding this expecially and he has a natural feeling for the temperament of the music and its intensity. Hear his ravishing playing in the cantabile middle section of the delicious Scherzo. Ricci is backed with a distinguished and sympathetic accompaniment under Ansermet & the SRO. The right warmth & atmosphere.

• 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl
• High Quality Pressing
• Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering

Ruggiero Ricci, violin
Ernest Ansermet, conductor
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande

Edouard Lalo (1823 - 1892)

1. Allegro non troppo
2. Scherzando
3. Intermezzo
4. Andante
5. Rondo
6. Tzigane

Additional Information

Record Label Speakers Corner
Music Genre Classicals