Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong - Ella and Louis (Mono)

• Limited Edition
... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Back in stock !

2013 Stereophile Magazine Record to Die For!

The Absolute Sound 40th Anniversary Best Sounding Music!

Michael Fremer Rated 8/10 Music, 9/10 Sonics in his February 2012 reviews on www.musicangle.com and Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the February 2012 Issue of Stereophile!

Limited Edition 200 Gram, 45rpm 2LP Mono Set!

Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound & Cut from the Absolute Original Analog Master Tapes!
Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

The very fact that America's biggest jazz label called one of their albums quite simply Ella and Louis indicates that we are talking about something very special here. And surely enough has been said - "Satchmo" and the grande dame of jazz certainly need no further introduction. In the '50s just the mere mention of their forenames was enough to light up the eyes of jazz fans.

A glance at the tracklist reveals that tranquility rules the day: wild stomps and improvised scats will neither be sought nor missed. Of prime importance to the jazz ballad is a feeling of 'letting oneself drift' in the inspiration which gushes forth from the minds of genial American songwriters.

This is no contest - for the artists all pursue a common goal with extreme sensitiveness. The background combo, made up of first-class musicians and led by Oscar Peterson, performs with great concentration and almost obtrusive unobtrusiveness. Verve's highly successful producer Norman Granz decided quite deliberately to make the recording in the studio instead of at a live session. And success has verified his judgment, for such vocal jazz knows only gentle tones - but the result is all the more intensive for that.

"The recording quality is stupendously transparent, natural and intimate. Don’t let the age or the “mono-ness” of it fool you into thinking you’re getting moldy sound." - Michael Fremer, www.musicangle.com, Music 8/10, Sound 9/10

"The most delightful jazz vocal recording of all time, now enshrined in 45rpm, 200gm vinyl from Chad Kassem's Quality Record Pressings, and it's a jaw-dropper... Ella and Louis are 3D-palpable; they're in the room, or you're in their room. Ella breathes air; when Pop sings down low, your hair stands on end. A jazz-critic friend likened it to 'an acid trip.'" - Fred Kaplan, Stereophile Magazine, February 2013, p. 67

• Limited Edition
• Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound!
• Cut from the Absolute Original Analog Master Tapes!
• 200 Gram, 45rpm 2LP
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Mono

Louis Armstrong, vocals, trumpet
Ella Fitzgerald, vocals
Ray Brown, bass
Herb Ellis, guitar
Oscar Peterson, piano
Buddy Rich, drums

1. Can't We Be Friends
2. Isn't This A Lovely Day
3. Moonlight In Vermont
4. They Can't Take That Away From Me
5. Under A Blanket Of Blue
6. Tenderly
7. A Foggy Day
8. Stars Fell On Alabama
9. Cheek To Cheek
10. The Nearness Of You
11. April In Paris

Additional Information

Record Label Analogue Productions (Verve)
Music Genre Jazz