The Band - Music From Big Pink

• 180 Gram Vinyl
• Audiophile... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 34/500!

The debut album for the folk rock group The Band features one of their best-known songs "The Weight".

Music From the Big Pink contains a blend of country, rock, folk, classical R&B and soul and is considered by some to be one of the best albums by the group. Bob Dylan painted the cover of the album.

"Big Pink" was a garishly pink house in Woodstock, New York, where the Band — Dylan's '65-66 backup band on tour — moved to be near Dylan after his motorcycle accident. While he recuperated, the Band backed him on the demos later known as The Basement Tapes and made its own debut. Dylan offered to play on the album; the Band said no thanks. "We didn't want to just ride his shirttail all the time," drummer Levon Helm said. Dylan contributed "I Shall Be Released" and co-wrote two other tunes. But it was the rustic beauty of the Band's music and the incisive drama of its own reflections on family and obligations, such as "The Weight," that made Big Pink an instant homespun classic." -

"...['Tears Of Rage'] about a daughter's rejection of her father projects raw, painful, heart-breaking emotion not often heard on rock records... The opening song remains almost as powerful and stunning heard for the hundredth time in 2012 as it was upon first listen in 1968. It just rips you up." - Michael Fremer, analogplanet, Music 10/11, Sound 10/11

• 180 Gram Vinyl
• Audiophile Quality
• Limited Edition
• All original packaging
• Faithful reproductions
• Gatefold jacket
• White Sleeve
• Original Version

1. Tears of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
3. In a Station
4. Caledonia Mission
5. The Weight
6. We Can Talk
7. Long Black Veil
8. Chest Fever
9. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel's On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released

Additional Information

Record Label EMI
Music Genre Pop - Rock