Sharron Kraus - Friends And Enemies; Lovers And Strangers

• Numbered, Limited Edition... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Great Female Vocals on Numbered, Limited Edition Import LP! Limited to Only 500 Numbered Copies!

Sharron Kraus is a UK-based singer, musician and songwriter whose music though informed by the folk traditions of England and Appalachia has its own distinctive voice. Kraus has been heralded as one of the strongest voices in English contemporary folk. She has recorded a collection of traditional folk songs, Leaves From Off the Tree, with Meg Baird and Helena Espvall of Philadelphia psych folk band Espers, but the majority of her work is self-authored.

Kraus makes her debut on Clay Pipe Music with a collection of songs inspired by the Welsh folk tales of The Mabinogi. The idea for the album was first realized while she was living in rural Mid Wales. The stories collected in The Four Branches of The Mabinogi were written in the 11th Century but contain themes that remain relevant today: love and hatred; battles for power; loss, displacement and migration of peoples; magic and wonder.

The album is full of beautiful crystal clear melodies that enhance the intrigue of the tales Sharron is telling. Using harp, recorders, and bowed dulcimer, as well as guitar and piano, the songs manage to capture the atmosphere of the time and take the listener back to the magical places mentioned in the stories.

• Numbered, Limited Edition - Only 500 Numbered Copies
• Import
• Limited time download
• Booklet

Side One:

1. My Friend's Enemy
2. The Hunter
3. Branwen
4. A Hero's Death
5. The Birds Of Rhiannon
Side Two:
1. A Quiet Place
2. Farewell
3. Blodeuwedd
4. Stranger In Your Land

Additional Information

Record Label Misc
Music Genre Folk