Santana - Caravanserai

Caravanserai is the fourth studio album by Santana released in... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Caravanserai is the fourth studio album by Santana released in October 1972. It marked a major turning point in Carlos Santana's career as it was a sharp departure from his critically acclaimed first three albums. Caravanserai reached number eight in the Billboard 200 chart and number six in the R&B Albums chart.

The sound contrasted greatly with Santana's trademark fusion of Salsa, Rock, and Jazz, and concentrated mostly on jazz-like instrumental passages. All but three tracks were instrumentals, and consequently the album yielded no hit singles. The album is the first among a series of Santana albums that were known for their increasing musical complexity, marking a move away from the popular rock format of the early Santana albums towards a more contemplative and experimental jazz sound.

It was the last Santana album to feature Gregg Rolie and Neal Schon, who went on to form Journey the following year.

Side A
1. Eternal Caravan Of Reincarnation
2. Waves Within
3. Look Up (To See What's Coming Down)
4. Just In Time To See The Sun
5. Song Of The Wind
6. All The Love Of The Universe     

Side B
1. Future Primitive
2. Stone Flower
3. La Fuente Del Ritmo
4. Every Step Of The Way

Additional Information

Record Label Sony
Music Genre Pop - Rock