Santana - Abraxas

ULTRADISC II™ Gold CD series Learn More

Availability: In stock


One of rock's true masterpieces, this stunning sophomore effort was released in September, 1970 to unanimous accolades and went to Number One on the Billboard Pop Album chart. Utilizing the studio more in overall production than on their debut (especially in mixing and using cross-fades) the band and producer Fred Catero (Janis Joplin, BS&T, Chicago) still maintained the street energy and ethnic roots, while elevating Carlos' guitar passages to god-like status; resulting in the pinnacle of their album output. Wicked re-worked arrangements of songs as dichotomatic as the connecting of Peter Green's "Black Magic Woman" with Gabor Szabo's "Gypsy Queen" in medley, followed directly in sequence on side one with Tito Puente's "Oye Como Va" (charting at #13), was both brilliant and on-par with anything going down in music at the time, period.


Packed in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

1. Singing Winds, Crying Beasts

2. Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen

3. Oye Como Va

4. Incident at Neshabur

5. Se a Cabo

6. Mother's Daughter

7. Samba Pa Ti

8. Hope You're Feeling Better

9. El Nicoya

Additional Information

Record Label Mobile Fidelity
Music Genre Pop - Rock