Roy Orbison - Crying

• 200g 45rpm Double LP Learn More


Availability: In stock


200g 45rpm Vinyl Double LP Plated & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Tapes!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Songs of All Time - "Crying" - Rated 69/500!

The second Roy Orbison issued by the Monument label, Crying was originally released in 1962 and became Orbison's chart breakthrough, reaching No. 21 on the Billboard chart and No. 17 in the U.K. The album name comes from the 1961 hit song of the same name that in 2002 was honored with a Grammy Hall of Fame Award. By 1962, Roy Orbison had established himself as one the leading lights out of Nashville. Still, it wasn’t until he met songwriting partner Joe Melson that things began to fall into place for Roy. He moved to Monument Records in 1960 — the focus in the studio was centered around exploiting the quality and range of his voice. Soon Orbison and Melson penned the hits "Only The Lonely" and "Running Scared." Orbison had arrived.

The focus on this Analogue Productions reissue of Crying was extracting the absolute highest-quality sound from the original analog tape. Mastered by Bernie Grundman at 45 RPM, the four sides of dead-silent 200-gram vinyl pressed at Quality Record Pressings provide reduced distortion and high frequency loss as the wider-spaced grooves let your stereo cartridge track more accurately. The heavyweight gatefold tip-on jacket from Stoughton Printing cradles the LPs in style.

The Orbison-Melson penned title track zoomed to No. 2 on the Billboard charts. "Crying" is a slow-burning lament, allowing Roy’s voice to come shining through, accompanied by strings, soulful vocals and a dynamically great vocal hook. Hear the Analogue Productions difference how great this familiar tune and its album namesake can sound.

• 200g 45rpm Double LP
• Plated & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Mastered from original analog tapes
• Mastered by Bernie Grundman
• Old-style tip-on heavyweight gatefold jacket by Stoughton Printing

Side 1:

1. Crying
2. The Great Pretender
3. Love Hurts
Side 2:
1. She Wears My Ring
2. Wedding Day
3. Summersong
Side 3:
1. Dance
2. Lana
3. Loneliness
Side 4:
1. Let's Make A Memory
2. Nite Life
3. Running Scared

Additional Information

Record Label Analogue Productions
Music Genre Pop - Rock