180 gram Audiophile LP Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Used The Original... Learn More

Availability: In stock


Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Used The Original 1/4" Analog Master Tapes To Master This Classic 1981 Album!

Rickie Lee Jones' Pirates arrives like a cloudburst in the desert of Eighties formula pop music and recycled heavy-metal rock." So wrote Stephen Holden in Rolling Stone in his five-star review of the eclectic artist's sophomore record, a 1981 set that continues to defy eras and styles.

Accompanied by an all-star lineup that includes trumpeter Randy Brecker, Steely Dan icon Donald Fagen, session pro Victor Feldman, and legendary jazz arranger Ralph Burns, the singer-songwriter achieves a musical nirvana that encompasses post-bop, coffeehouse folk, bohemian pop, romantic soul, Beat poetry, and Broadway showtunes. Albums with this kind of stylistic magnitude, close-up intimacy, and emotional intensity come around only once or so a decade.


Side 1.

1. We Belong Together

2. Living It Up

3. Skeletons

4. Woody and Dutch on the Slow Train to Peking

Side 2.

1. Pirates (So Long Lonely Avenue)

2. A Lucky Guy

3. Traces of the Western Slopes

4. The Returns

Additional Information

Record Label Mobile Fidelity
Music Genre Pop - Rock