Mobile Fidelity Hybrid Stereo SACD Learn More

Availability: In stock


4½ Stars - All Music Guide

Mastered from the Original ½" Analog Master Tapes

Produced by Gil Norton (Counting Crows, Foo Fighters)

The analog masters for Bossanova have been missing for 18 years and were located recently in the WEA tape archives in LA. This will be the first time the original ½" analog master tapes were used since Bossanova's original release in 1990.

Released on August 13th, 1990, Bossanova was the Pixies' third release and was their second time collaborating with independent English producer Gil Norton. The album departed from the "unpredictable" signature sound of the Pixies and is considered their first thematic project. All the original songwriting on Bossanova is by leader Black Francis (Frank Thompson), who ultimately reveals his twisted interpretation of surf music combined with his fascination of aliens and UFOs. The end result is Bossanova, often described as a surf-space rock album that touched upon new heights for the Pixies.

Pakaged in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

1. Cecilia Ann (2:08)

2. Rock Music (1:53)

3. Velouria (3:43)

4. Allison (1:19)

5. Is She Weird (3:03)

6. Ana (2:11)

7. All Over the World (5 33)

8. Dig For Fire (3:04)

9. Down to the Well (2:31)

10. The Happening (4:22)

11. Blown Away (2:22)

12. Hang Wire (2:02)

13. Stormy Weather (3:29)

14. Havalina (2:37)

Additional Information

Record Label Mobile Fidelity
Music Genre Pop - Rock