New York Voices - Let It Snow

• Hybrid Multichannel... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Hybrid Multi-Channel SACD!

Audio Fidelity has entered into a relationship with multi-Grammy award winner Elliot Scheiner. Scheiner has produced, mixed or mastered a superstar list of artists including The Eagles, Sting, Steely Dan, Fleetwood Mac, Jackson Browne and more. Their first release under this new association is "Let It Snow," by New York Voices, one of the finest singing ensembles ever assembled. This magnificent multichannel production is destined to become a Christmas Classic. The recording was mixed in 5.1 and mastered by Elliot Scheiner with Darcy Proper adding the mastering on the 2-channel and the DSD.

New York Voices is unquestionably one of the finest singing ensembles ever assembled and with Let It Snow, lend their quality vocals to the wintery season of cheer delivering a powerful performance of familiar Christmas songs. The music is traditional, the arrangements are new and innovative with much of the vocal arrangements and orchestrations contributed by a host of talents among them, Pat Hollenbeck of the Boston Pop fame and multiple Grammy Award-winning arranger Don Sebesky.

The thirteen Christmas songs are performed in a variety of settings using a standard six-piece rhythm section accompanied by a thirty-one piece studio orchestra on five tracks, a thirteen-piece big band on four songs, a septet on "I Wonder As I Wander," as well as wonderful a cappella treatments of religious songs like "O Come, O Come Emmanuel," and "Silent Night."

Sebesky's big band arrangement of the title song kicks off the music in high gear complete with some appreciable scatting and a tenor saxophone solo and ending in a crescendo of vocals. One of the highlights of the album is the medley of Mel Torme's classic "The Christmas Song" and the Charlie Brown holiday standard "Christmas Time Is Here." Another big band piece not to be missed is the swinging "O, Little Town of Bethlehem," the religious ballad "O Come, All Ye Faithful" and the big band rendition of "The Merry Medley." The Christmas standard "We Wish You A Merry Christmas" is the last large ensemble, high-octane piece featuring the brass instruments. Whether featuring lovely ballads, a swinging big band background, light orchestrations from a studio ensemble or pure a cappella vocals, New York Voices unwraps the enchanting Let It Snow as the newest Christmas present.

The New York Voices are Darmon Meader, Kim Nazarian, Lauren Kinhan, and Peter Eldridge.

• Hybrid Multichannel SACD
• Includes Multi-Channel mix in SACD Surround Sound and original 2-Channel Stereo Mixes in SACD Stereo and CD Stereo
• Mastered by Elliot Scheiner with Darcy Proper adding the mastering on the 2-channel and the DSD
• Hybrid Multichannel SACD Plays On All SACD & CD Players

1. Let It Snow
2. Christmas Song / Christmas Time is Here
3. O, Little Town of Bethlehem
4. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
5. We Three Kings
6. Holiday for Strings
7. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
8. Sleepers, Wake!
9. O Come, All Ye Faithful
10. The Merry Medley: The Man with the Bag / I'd Like You for Christmas / Santa Claus is Coming to Town
11. I Wonder as I Wander
12. Coventry Carol
13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
14. Silent Night

Additional Information

Record Label Audio Fidelity
Music Genre Vocalist