Mary Chapin Carpenter - Sometimes Just The Sky

180-gram double LP plated and pressed at Quality Record... Learn More


Availability: In stock


180-gram double LP plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Includes Carpenter's evocative reimagining of "This Shirt"

Twelve revisited tunes on Sometimes Just The Sky

Sometimes Just the Sky is not a greatest hits endeavor or a remastered compilation. It's not a celebration or a souvenir. It is a reimagining of a most unusual nature. It is a collection of songs written across the decades, recorded in bucolic western England at Real World Studios with the great producer Ethan Johns. Grammy winner Mary Chapin Carpenter reimagines one song from each of her previous studio LPs for the new album, out March 30, 2018.

Carpenter sat with new and old friends who circled together in a wooden room and made music, in real time. What we hear is precisely what was played and sung, all at once. There's a song originally recorded for each of Carpenter's original studio records, and then there's a new song, which was aided and abetted by hillside contemplation and a punk poet's advice.

1. Heroes and Heroines
2. What Does It Mean To Travel
3. I Have A Need For Solitude
4. One Small Heart
5. The Moon and St. Christopher
6. Superman
7. Naked To The Eye
8. Rhythm Of The Blues
9. This Is Love
10. Jericho
11. The Calling
12. This Shirt
13. Sometimes Just The Sky

Additional Information

Record Label Misc
Music Genre Folk