Marvin Gaye - Marvin Gaye Vol 1 / 1961-1965

• 7LP Box Set
... Learn More


Availability: In stock


180g Vinyl 7LP Box Set! First Set of Three from Marvin Gaye's Catalog!

USM are pleased to announce the release of Marvin Gaye 1961-1965, a collection of his first seven studio albums on 180g vinyl in one fantastic box.

This includes the stereo mixes of The Soulful Moods Of Marvin Gaye, That Stubborn Kind Of Fellow, and When I’m Alone I Cry released as LPs for the first time ever.

Marvin Gaye was originally a member of The Marquees, later known as The New Moonglows under co-founder Harvey Fuqua’s direction. The group recorded several sides for Chess in 1959, including the song "Mama Loocie," which was Marvin's first lead vocal recording. The group found work as session singers for established acts such as Chuck Berry, singing on the hits "Back in the U.S.A." and "Almost Grown." In 1960 the group disbanded and Marvin relocated to Detroit with Fuqua where he signed with Tri-Phi Records as a session musician. Impressed by the singer, Motown president Berry Gordy fought Fuqua on his contract with Marvin and shortly afterwards, Marvin signed with Motown subsidiary Tamla.

In 1962, he found success as co-writer of the Marvelettes hit, "Beechwood 4-5789." His first solo hit, "Stubborn Kind of Fellow," was later released that September, reaching number 8 on the R&B chart and number 46 on the Billboard Hot 100. He reached the top 50 with the dance song, "Hitch Hike," peaking at number 30 on the Hot 100. "Pride and Joy" became his first top ten single after its release in 1963.

In 1964, he recorded a successful duet album with singer Mary Wells titled Together, which reached 42 on the pop album chart. The album's two-sided single, including "Once Upon a Time" and "What's the Matter With You Baby," each reached the top 20. Marvin’s next solo hit, "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)," written for him by Holland-Dozier-Holland, reached number 6 on the Hot 100 and reached the top 50 in the UK.

Commonly referred to as the "Prince of Soul," Marvin Gaye helped to shape the sound of Motown Records during this period and was one of the greatest voices to emerge from the label. Here they celebrate his early years, the first of three vinyl boxed sets spanning his catalog.

• 7LP Box Set
• 180g Vinyl
• Includes a voucher to download MP3 version of the albums

The Soulful Moods Of Marvin Gaye (Mono)
Side One:

1. Masquerade
2. Funny Valentine
3. Witchcraft
4. Easy Living
5. How Deep The Ocean
Side Two:
1. Love For Sale
2. Always
3. How High The Moon
4. Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
5. Never Let You Go
6. You Don't Know What Love Is

That Stubborn Kind Of Fellow (Mono)
Side One:

1. Stubborn Kind of Fellow
2. Pride & Joy
3. Hitch Hike
4. Get My Hands On Some Lovin'
5. Wherever I Lay My Hat
Side Two:
1. Soldier's Plea
2. It Hurt Me Too
3. Taking My Time
4. Hello There Angel
5. I'm Yours, You're Mine

When I'm Alone I Cry
Side One:

1. You've Changed
2. I Was Telling Her About You
3. I Wonder
4. I'll Be Around
5. Because Of You
Side Two:
1. I Don't Know Why
2. I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
3. When Your Lover Has Gone
4. When I'm Alone I Cry
5. If My Heart Could Sing

Hello Broadway...This Is Marvin!
Side One:

1. Hello Broadway
2. People
3. The Party's Over
4. On The Street Where You Live
5. What Kind Of Fool I Am
6. My Kind Of Town
Side Two:
1. The Days Of Wine And Roses
2. This Is The Life
3. My Way
4. Hello Dolly
5. Walk On The Wild Side

Together (with Mary Wells)
Side One:

1. Once Upon A Time
2. Deed I Do
3. Until I Met You
4. Together
5. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
Side Two:
1. The Late Late Show
2. After The Lights Go Down Low
3. Squeeze Me
4. What's The Matter With You Baby
5. You Came A Long Way From St.Louis

How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You
Side One:

1. You're A Wonderful One
2. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
3. Try It Baby
4. Baby Don't You Do It
5. Need Your Lovin' (Want You Back)
6. One Of These Days
Side Two:
1. No Good Without You
2. Stepping Closer To Your Heart
3. Need Somebody
4. Me And My Lonely Room
5. Now That Youve Won Me
6. Forever

A Tribute To The Great Nat King Cole
Side One:

1. Nature Boy
2. Ramblin' Rose
3. Too Young
4. Pretend
5. Straighten Up And Fly Right
6. Mona Lisa
Side Two:
1. Unforgettable
2. To The Ends Of The Earth
3. Sweet Lorraine
4. It's Only A Paper Moon
5. Send For Me
6. Calypso Blues

Additional Information

Record Label Universal
Music Genre RB - Soul - Reggae