Mark Knopfler - Shangri-La

Hybrid SACD

"Shangri La, Mark Knopfler’s... Learn More


Availability: In stock


"Shangri La, Mark Knopfler’s fourth solo release and his first since breaking his collarbone, shoulder and seven ribs in a motorcycle crash in March 2003, finds the eternally laid back Dire Straits front man in familiar territory…Knopfler has more or less abandoned the British-folk and Celtic-influenced pop that began to surface on his previous two recordings, opting instead for a full-blown, yet quiet and considerate collection of country-folk ballads and bluesy, mid-tempo dirges that revel in their uncharacteristic sparseness…lovers of Chet Atkins, Gordon Lightfoot and J.J. Cale, as well as late-night poker players and early risers with an acerbic streak will find much to love here." - All Music Guide

Hybrid SACD

     1. 5:15 a.m.
    2. Boom, Like That
    3. Sucker Row
    4. The Trawlerman's Son
    5. Back to Tupelo
    6. Our Shangri-la
    7. Everybody Pays
    8. Song for Sonny Liston
    9. Whoop De Doo
    10. Postcards From Paraguay
    11. All That Matters
    12. Stand Up Guy
    13. Donegan's Gone
    14. Don't Crash the Ambulance

Additional Information

Record Label Mercury
Music Genre Pop - Rock