Lucinda Williams - This Sweet Old World

• Double LP
&bull... Learn More


Availability: In stock


Re-Recorded Classic 1992 Album On Pink Double LP As Part Of Ten Bands One Cause Campaign!
Includes Four Bonus Tracks!

Lucinda Williams released Sweet Old World in 1992, and for its 25th anniversary she is releasing a re-recorded, re-sequenced album with four bonus tracks under the updated title This Sweet Old World. There will be a limited one time run of 2,000 units of PINK VINYL for this year's Ten Bands One Cause pink vinyl charity campaign to support Gilda's Club NYC.

Produced by Williams and Tom Overby, This Sweet Old World features fresh updated interpretations of songs such as "Prove My Love", "Sidewalks of the City", "Memphis Pearl" and "Lines Around Your Eyes". With her deeply soulful voice and wisdom gained over the last 25 years, Williams breathes new life into classics "Pineola", "Sweet Old World", "Something About What Happens When We Talk", "Little Angel, Little Brother" and Nick Drake’s "Which Will".

The third track on the 1992’s Sweet Old World, "He Never Got Enough Love" is transformed with additional verses, new sound and new title, "Drivin' Down A Dead End Street", which was the song’s original title. Williams changed it upon the realization that Bob Dylan had a current album with a similar name.

The arrangements on This Sweet Old World are tighter and rawer than the original and feature Williams' fantastic touring/studio band: guitarist Stuart Mathis, bassist David Sutton, and drummer Butch Norton. Guitarist Greg Leisz, who actually participated in the early sessions for the 1992 album, adds his masterful playing to the new recordings.

If re-recording an entire studio album was not already an unprecedented move, Williams and company chose to re-record the four tracks that were not included on the original release. This Sweet Old World features new versions of "Factory Blues", "Dark Side of Life", John Anderson's "Wild and Blue" and the John Leventhal/Jim Lauderdale-penned "What You Don’t Know".

While Sweet Old World remains a favorite of many Lucinda Williams fans, the album came out in between two of her landmark recordings (1988's highly-influential Lucinda Williams and 1998's masterpiece Car Wheels On a Gravel Road) and was not as revered over time. The years have proven that the songs are as strong as any she has written, but Williams felt the need to revisit the recording. "Everything’s different now. It's a different band, it's a different studio, my voice is different," says Williams. "It’s like a new album."

This is the 4th year for the initiative that has raised over $144,000 for Gilda’s Club NYC, an organization that provides community support for both those diagnosed with cancer and their caretakers. It is named after comedian Gilda Radner, who passed away from cancer at the age of 43 in 1989. Since 2014, 30 bands have pressed their albums on pink colored vinyl to support Breast Cancer Awareness Month and Gilda's Club NYC.

• Double LP
• Ten Bands One Cause campaign
• Re-recorded and re-sequenced
• Gatefold jacket


Side A:
1. Six Blocks Away
2. Prove My Love
3. Something About What Happens When We Talk
4. Memphis Pearl

Side B:
1. Sidewalks Of The City
2. Sweet Old World
3. Little Angel, Little Brother
4. Pineola

Side C:
1. Lines Around Your Eyes
2. Drivin' Down A Dead End Street
3. Hot Blood
4. Which Will

Side D:
(Bonus Tracks)
1. Factory Blues
2. What You Don't Know
3. Wild And Blue
4. Dark Side Of Life

Additional Information

Record Label Misc
Music Genre Folk