Livingston Taylor - Good Friends

  • Numbered edition limited to 500 copies worldwide... Learn More

Availability: Out of stock


Numbered edition limited to 500 copies worldwide!

Mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk Studios from the original analog master tapes

Pressed at Pallas in Germany HQ—180-gram LP

An album full of skillfully crafted pop songs and classics with a jazzy twist. Originally released in 1993, Good Friends is singer-songwriter Livingston Taylor's ninth album. Taylor includes several cover songs along with his own self-penned material.

His cover of Bill Withers' "Grandma's Hands" takes the original's simple arrangement (just a bluesy electric guitar, bass and drums behind Wither's voice) and recreates the song into a gospel-choir backed a cappella performance. Based on the lyrics, the Grandma of this song was a religious woman who "clapped in church on Sunday morning" and "played a tambourine so well. He also tackles the Wizard of Oz selections, "If I Only Had a Brain" and "Somewhere Over the Rainbow."

Keeping with the Chesky Records standards, as the back-cover reads, this album was "recorded with minimalist miking techniques and without overdubbing or artificial enhancement to ensure the purest and most natural sound possible."

Side A
    1. Out Of This World
    2. Jacques Cousteau
    3. Heart & Soul
    4. Carolina Day
    5. If I Only Had A Brain
    6. Grandma’s Hands
    7. Blind
    8. Good Friends
Side B
    1. Pajamas
    2. Save Your Heart For Me
    3. Fifth & Vine
    4. Bluer Than Blue
    5. In My Reply
    6. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
    7. Thank You Song

Additional Information

Record Label AudioNautes Recordings
Music Genre Pop - Rock