Lang Lang - Live at Carnegie Hall

• Limited Edition Learn More


Availability: In stock


Limited Edition 180g Double LP from Deutsche Grammophon! Pressed at Optimal!

If one word applies to Lang Lang, to the musician, to the man, to his worldview, to those who come into contact with him, it is "inspiration." It resounds like a musical motif through his life and career.

Lang Lang inspires millions with his open-hearted, emotive playing, whether it be in intimate recitals or on the grandest of stages. He never forgets what first inspired, and continues to inspire him. Great artists, above all the great composers – Liszt, Chopin and the others – whose music he now delights in bringing to others.

For this double LP presentation of his 2004 concert at Carnegie Hall, Lang Lang plays music by a variety of composers including Schumann, Haydn, Schubert, Tan Dun, Chopin, and Liszt.

Limited Edition luxurious 180 gram heavyweight vinyl double LP pressings from OPTIMAL. This release includes a limited time voucher with a unique code to download the digital audio files (MP3) of the full album for free.

"There is some really fine music making going on here, offering evidence of both a big technique and a big heart behind the flashing finger work . . . The range of repertoire here . . . is as impressive as the technical ease with which Lang Lang plays it all, sounding as fresh by the evening's end as he does at its opening. . . an artist with the potential to do great things." - Record Review / David Hurwitz, / 01. March 2004

"There are those who say Lang Lang is the greatest pianist of his generation. Listen for yourself; they may well be right." - Record Review / David Simmons, / 01. March 2004

• Limited Edition
• 180g Heavyweight Vinyl Pressing
• Double LP
• Pressed at Optimal
• Gatefold Jacket
• Includes voucher with unique code to download the digital audio files of the full album for free

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. Applause

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
2. Abegg-Variationen, op. 1

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Piano Sonata in C major, Hob. XVI:50

3. I. Allegro
4. II. Adagio
5. III. Allegro molto

LP 1 - Side 2:
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Fantasia in C Major D 760 "Wanderer-Fantasie"

1. I. Allegro con fuoco ma non troppo
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Presto
4. IV. Allegro

LP 2 - Side 3:
Tan Dun (1957)
Eight Memories in Watercolor, op. 1

1. Missing Moon. Adagio rubato
2. Staccato Beans. Allegro
3. Herdboy's Song. Licenza pastorale
4. Blue Nun. Andante
5. Red Wilderness. Lento
6. Ancient Burial. Adagio
7. Floating Clouds. Andante semplice
8. Sunrain. Allegro

Frederic Chopin (1810-1849)
9. Nocturne No. 8 in D flat, op. 27 no. 2

LP 2 - Side 4:
Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

1. Reminiscences du Don Juan de Mozart, S.418

Robert Schumann

2. Traumerei

Huang Hai Hwai, Chen Rao Xing, Shen Li Qun
3. Horses (after pieces by Huang Hai Hwai, Chen Rao Xing and Shen Li Qun) (Arr. by Lang Lang and Lang Guo-ren)

Franz Liszt
4. Liebestraum, S.541 no. 3

Additional Information

Record Label Sony
Music Genre Classicals