King Crimson - Starless and Bible Black

• 200g Super Heavyweight... Learn More


Availability: In stock


200 Gram Super-Heavyweight Vinyl!

Starless And Bible Black is the eighth in a series of audiophile King Crimson vinyl reissues and completes the availability of the band's studio output from 1969/74 on 200 gram vinyl editions. Newly cut from masters approved by Robert Fripp, this super-heavyweight vinyl re-issue is housed in a reprint of the original gatefold sleeve. The first run of this edition contains a bonus limited time MP3 codes giving access to a download of a transfer of an original 1975 pressing.

Much of this 1974 album was recorded live but was edited and blended with studio material. In 1973, percussionist Jamie Muir left the band and the band's drummer, Bill Bruford, took on the duties of percussion.

With the line-up change and touring pressures, King Crimson were short of newly written material to record for this album. Having increased their level of onstage improvisation while touring, they used new compositions performed in concert for this 1974 released album, in some cases blending the live recordings with studio recordings.

• 200g Super Heavyweight vinyl
• Cut from masters approved by Robert Fripp
• Reprint of original gatefold sleeve

David Cross, violin, viola, mellotron, electric piano
Robert Fripp, guitar, mellotron, electric piano
John Wetton, bass, vocals
William Bruford, percussion

Side 1:

1. The Great Deceiver
2. Lament
3. We'll Let You Know (instrumental)
4. The Night Watch
5. Trio (instrumental)
6. The Mincer

Side 2:
7. Starless and Bible Black (instrumental)
8. Fracture (instrumental)

Additional Information

Record Label Discipline Global Mobile
Music Genre Pop - Rock