Joan Baez - Play Me Backwards

Double LP includes the previously unreleased Play Me Backwards demos... Learn More

Availability: In stock


Double LP includes the previously unreleased Play Me Backwards demos. 180-gram pressing

First released in 1992, Play Me Backwards holds a very special place in the rich 50-year recording history of Joan Baez. The album's sessions brought her back to Nashville for the first time since the series of four albums she had recorded in Music City between 1968 and 1971. Returning to Nashville's familiar environment two decades later and collaborating with producers Wally Wilson and Kenny Greenberg proved to be a perfect fit. Joan reaffirmed her unique ability to identify and interpret successive generations of songwriters whose music had the ability to speak to her: Mary Chapin Carpenter ("Stones In the Road"), John Stewart ("Strange Rivers"), John Hiatt ("Through Your Hands"), the duo of Janis Ian and Buddy Mondlock ("Amsterdam"), and Ron Davies ("Steal Across the Border" and "The Dream Song," co-written with Joan). Play Me Backwards also contains four songs that Joan co-wrote with her two producers ("Play Me Backwards," "Isaac and Abraham," "I'm With You," and "Edge Of Glory," one of the last occasions on which she contributed to an album as a songwriter).

Adding historic provenance to this reissue is a second disc containing previously unreleased demos of 10 songs which were contemplated by Joan and her producers, heard here for the first time. Some of the songwriters are not widely known, such as the late Mark Heard ("Rise From the Ruins," "Lonely Moon"), John Hadley ("The Last Day") or Gary Nicholson ("Trouble With the Truth"); and one writer is not known at all ("Medicine Wheel"). On the other hand, there are additional songs from Janis Ian ("We Endure") and Ron Davies ("Dark Eyed Man," originally recorded by Kevin Welch as "Dark Eyed Gal"); and one that Joan wrote with Greenberg's wife, the respected Christian artist Ashley Cleveland ("In My Day"). Fans will be immediately drawn to Joan's version of Bob Dylan's "Seven Curses" (his adaptation of the traditional Child ballad "The Maid Freed From the Gallows" aka "Anathea"), the only one of these songs previously recorded by Joan (on the live album Bowery Songs in 2005).

By all accounts, Play Me Backwards is said to be the album that began the renaissance of Joan Baez's career that has continued through 2008's Grammy-nominated Day After Tomorrow. Play Me Backwards is an album whose impact will continue to reverberate for decades to come.

1. Play Me Backwards

2. Amsterdam

3. Isaac & Abraham

4. Stones In The Road

5. Steal Across The Border

6. I'm With You

7. I'm With You (Reprise)

8. Strange Rivers

9. Through Your Hands

10. The Dream Song

11. Edge Of Glory

12. Medicine Wheel

13. Rise From The Ruins

14. Trouble With The Truth

15. Much Better View Of The Moon

16. Seven Curses

17. Lonely Moon

18. We Endure

19. The Last Day

20. In My Day

21. Dark Eyed Man

Additional Information

Record Label Diverse Records
Music Genre Pop - Rock