Gerry Mulligan & Ben Webster - Gerry Mulligan Meets Ben Webster

Features: • Numbered, Limited Edition • 180g Vinyl • 45rpm... Learn More

Availability: In stock


Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Master Tapes! Only 2500 Numbered Limited Edition Copies Worldwide!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the December 2009 Issue of Stereophile!


When jazz giants Gerry Mulligan and Ben Webster collaborated for this legendary 1959 session, history was made, as was a classic record for the ages. This smooth and supple set is included among NPR's "Basic Jazz Record Library". The tunes are lush and emotional, driven along by a rhythm section that swings with just the right amount of bop.

"In listening to Gerry Mulligan," Dave Brubeck once said,"you feel as if you're listening to the past, present, and future of jazz, all in one tune, and yet it's done with such taste and respect that you're not ever aware of a change in idom." - from liner notes by Nat Hentoff

"The rhythm section for this date is uncommonly right for the Webster-Mulligan meeting. Rowles, Lewis, and Vinnegar all base their playing on a knowledge of 'the history of the language' they're using, and all three have secure, relaxed time. Furthermore, all three get solid, rounded sounds from their instruments..." - from liner notes by Nat Hentoff

"...... by far the best jazz reissue I've heard come out of the Grundman studio."

"...... the horn timbre is perfect."

"..... with music this good you need a break after each tune to regain your emotional composure." - HiFi Plus, Issue 72


Gerry Mulligan, baritone sax

Ben Webster, tenor sax

Jimmy Rowles, piano

Leroy Vinnegar, bass

Mel Lewis, drums


• Numbered, Limited Edition

• 180g Vinyl

• 45rpm

• Double LP

• Mastered by Bernie Grundman


1. Chelsea Bridge

2. The Cat Walk

3. Sunday

4. Who's Got Rhythm

5. Tell Me When

6. Go Home

Additional Information

Record Label ORG - Original Recordings Group
Music Genre Vocalist