Freddie Hubbard - Red Clay


Availability: In stock



  • 1970 Soul-Funk Hard-Bop Album Lays Groundwork for Decade's Fusion Recordings
  • First Set Made for Creed Taylor's CTI Label

Features: UHQCD

As the label’s first release, Red Clay established the soul-funk template Creed Taylor’s CTI imprint would follow for the next decade. Joined by the likes of Herbie Hancock, Joe Henderson, and others, Freddie Hubbard lays down bluesy hard-bop epiphanies, turning in his most memorable work as a leader. In addition to standing as a career-defining affair, the 1970 effort also marks Hubbard's break from his Blue Note era and signals the fusion-minded direction he and other players would further investigate in the years to come. 

  • Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
  • Herbie Hancock, piano
  • Ron Carter, bass
  • Lenny White, drums
  • Joe Henderson, saxophone


1. Red Clay

2. Delphia.

3. Suite Sioux

4. The Intrepid Fox

Additional Information

Record Label CTI
Music Genre Jazz