Ella Fitzgerald - Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Rodgers & Hart Songbook Vol. 1

Features: • ORG Ultimate Edition • Numbered, Limited Edition... Learn More

Availability: Out of stock


Michael Fremer Rated 11/10 Music, 10/10 Sound!!! TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the December 2010 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the November 2010 Issue of Stereophile!

Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Master Tapes! Only 2500 Numbered Limited Edition Copies Worldwide!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Rodgers and Hart Songbook is a 1956 album by the American jazz singer Ella Fitzgerald, with a studio orchestra conducted and arranged by Buddy Bregman, focusing on the songs written by Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart.

It's something most everyone has experienced: whether at one of the great jazz festivals in Berlin, Montreux or Paris, or in a small, provincial jazz club which exudes the charm of a dingy jazz cavern in the Fifties - you sit, listen, and then rack your brain to remember the name of the number which the young jazz musician is playing with all his heart. Just what was the name? Put the Ella Sings The Rodgers And Hart Songbook album on your turntable and you're guaranteed to recall "The Lady Is A Tramp," "Spring Is Here" and "It Never Entered My Mind." All these and many more excellent ballads flowed out of the pens of the songwriting team. But don't make the mistake of associating merely scat singing taken at a cracking pace with the most famous and the BEST jazz vocalist between 1930 and 1995. This album more than demonstrates Ella Fitzgerald's excellent powers of expression and her brilliant modulations.

"Bernie Grundman nails the mastering helping to bring to life a superb project deserving of rejuvenation. There is no way in hell any digital edition of this could sound as genuine as this double 45. Most highly recommended!" - Michael Fremer, www.musicangle.com, 10/10 Music, 11/10 Sound!!! Click Here to read the entire review!

"Mastered by Bernie Grundman, the sound is superb. Fitzgerald's pure voice and impeccable diction—on tongue twisters like "I Wish I Were In Love Again"—are beautifully captured. She's front and center, with halos of air surrounding her voice, and a band laid out behind her on a large soundstage." - Wayne Garcia, The Absolute Sound, December 2010, Issue 208, pg 170, 4/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics


• Numbered, Limited Edition

• 180g Vinyl

• 45rpm

• Double LP

• Mastered by Bernie Grundman


Ella Fitzgerald, vocals

Buddy Bregman, arranger, conductor


1. Have You Met Miss Jones?

2. You Took Advantage Of Me

3. A Ship Without A Sail

4. This Can't Be Love

5. The Lady Is A Tramp

6. Manhattan

7. Johnny One Note

8. I Wish I Were In Love Again

9. Spring Is Here

10. It Never Entered My Mind

11. Where Or When

12. Little Girl Blue

Additional Information

Record Label ORG - Original Recordings Group
Music Genre Vocalist