Earth, Wind & Fire - Open Our Eyes

• Numbered, Limited Edition Learn More


Availability: In stock


Numbered, Limited Edition Hybrid 4.0 Multichannel SACD! Mastered by Steve Hoffman!

Open Our Eyes is the fifth studio album by Earth, Wind & Fire, released in 1974 on Columbia Records. Earth, Wind & Fire had been delivering great albums since 1971, but it wasn't until 1974 that the public proved genuinely receptive to Maurice White's mystical and unorthodox take on soul and funk. No longer would EWF enjoy only a small cult following. Thanks to the chart-topping "Kalimba Song," the gritty funk smoker "Mighty Mighty," and the unforgettable "Devotion," Open Our Eyes, Earth, Wind & Fire's fifth studio album, went to #1 on the R&B Charts and #15 on the Pop Charts on its way to being certified platinum.

Funk came in different shades and EWF became the finest practitioners of that silky smooth style - a hybrid of funk that managed to keep much of the edge and energy of the original format, but proved to be a mainstream commercial crossover success.

The album drew an overwhelming response from both critics and music fans. Open Our Eyes showcased the click funk, infectious rhythms built on chunky guitar lines, Sly-like horn refrains and the edgy multiple vocals harmonies that became their trademark.

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Hybrid 4.0 Multichannel SACD
• Includes Multichannel Mix in SACD Surround Sound and original 2-Channel Stereo Mixes in SACD Stereo and CD Stereo
• Stereo CD and SACD mastering by Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering
• Quad recording & remix engineer: Bruce Botnick for Ears
• Hybrid Multichannel SACD Plays On All SACD & CD Players

1. Mighty Mighty
2. Devotion
3. Fair But So Uncool
4. Feelin' Blue
5. Kalimba Story
6. Drum Song
7. Tee Nine Chee Bit
8. Spasmodic Movements
9. Rabbit Seed
10. Caribou
11. Open Our Eyes

Additional Information

Record Label Audio Fidelity
Music Genre Pop - Rock