Claire Martin & Richard Rodney Bennett - Witchcraft : Songs of Cy Coleman

Features: • SACD Multi-Channel & Stereo Layers • HDCD Stereo... Learn More

Availability: In stock


Claire Martin and Richard Rodney Bennett have taken their creative partnership to the next level with this album. Bennett's refined playing and distinguished compositional style fuse beautifully with the powerful and passionate vocals of Britain's First Lady of Jazz, despite the musicians having very different backgrounds. The pair have worked together a number of times over the years and each collaboration just gets better than the last.

Witchcraft is the result of the dynamic collaboration between Claire Martin and Richard Rodney Bennett. This album contains a thoughtful selection of songs from the Cy Coleman songbook. Together, this collection weaves together the opposing talents of the sultry jazz sensation Claire Martin and the polished, savvy keyboard skills and compositional insight of Richard Rodney Bennett. Martin's strength as one of the best interpreters of the Great American Songbook shines through in this recording. The smoky elegance of her vocal sculpts itself around the smooth flowing textures of the piano accompaniment and the occasional vocal repartee of Bennett. The result of this established partnership is mesmerizing music that takes you back to a wonderful and simpler time of yesteryear.


• SACD Multi-Channel & Stereo Layers

• HDCD Stereo Layer

• This Hybrid SACD can be played on any standard compact disc player.

• DSD Mixing & Mastering

• Made in the EU


Claire Martin, vocals

Richard Rodney Bennett, piano, vocals


1. I'm Gonna Laugh You Right Out of My Life

2. The Best Is Yet To Come

3. The Rules Of the Road

4. On Second Thought

5. Ev'rybody Today Is Turning On

6. Sometime When You're Lonely

7. Let Me Down Easy

8. Nobody Does It Like Me

9. That's My Style

10. When In Rome (I Do As the Romans)

11. Witchcraft

12. With Every Breath I Take

13. On the Other Side of the Tracks

14. Would You Believe

Additional Information

Record Label Linn
Music Genre Jazz