Billy Joel - Glass Houses (Numbered-Limited Edition)

Mobile Fidelity Hybrid Stereo SACD Learn More

Availability: In stock


Chart-topper certified seven-times platinum

Numbered limited edition hybrid SACD

Includes "You May Be Right" "It's Still Rock and Roll to Me," "Don't Ask Me Why"

Elvis Costello long had a reputation for being the "angry young man." With apologies to the former Declan McManus, he had nothing on Billy Joel's Glass Houses. Fed up with inexcusable critical backlash and believing he'd still not been regarded as a serious artist, Joel ratcheted up the angst on the 1980 set that, oh, by the way, happened to sell another seven-million-plus copies and top the Billboard charts. Revenge is sweet.

Glass Houses is mastered from the original master tapes and made available on fully transparent hybrid SACD. Honing in on producer Phil Ramone's radio-tailored albeit looser, straightforward production, this edition opens up the previously veiled soundstages, spotlights the clean yet raucous arrangements, and decongests the imaging so that every note comes to the fore. Thanks to DSD technology and meticulous remastering, Joel's urgency and temperament have never sounded so vibrant.

1. You May Be Right

2. Sometimes a Fantasy

3. Don't Ask Me Why

4. It's Still Rock and Roll to Me

5. All for Lenya

6. I Don't Want to Be Alone

7. Sleeping With the Television On

8. C'etait Toi (You Were the One)

9. Close to the Borderline

10. Through the Long Night

Additional Information

Record Label Mobile Fidelity
Music Genre Pop - Rock