Allman Brothers Band - Idlewild South

ULTRADISC II™ Gold CD series Learn More

Availability: In stock


Dlewild South, the sophomore release from America's sovereign Southern rock band the Allman Brothers, is easily their greatest studio album. Unlike the band's labyrinthine live shows, which are distinguished by their immense, walloping swamp rock, this album focuses on the considerable songwriting capabilities of Gregg Allman and Dicky Betts.

Plus, it showcases the band's original lineup, before multiple tragedies began taking their toll: The lightning slide guitar of Duane Allman, the vocals and Hammond B-3 of his brother Greg Allman, lead guitarist Dickey Betts, bassist Berry Oakley, and the thunderous drum tandem of Butch Trucks and Jai Johanny Johanson. This album lays bare their talent for weaving disparate but distinctly Southern elements of rock, gospel, soul, jazz, and R&B into a cohesive and original whole.

The legendary Engineer/Producer Tom Dowd oversaw these sessions, which resulted in the Bible-thumping "Revival," the smash hit "Midnight Rider," the dirty blues of "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'," the soul-soothing "Please Call Home," and the legendary "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed," which would go on to become the penultimate Allman Brothers' concert war-horse.

Packed in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

1. Revival 4:04

2. Don't Keep Me Wonderin' 3:40

3. Midnight Rider 3:00

4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed 6:54

5. Hoochie Coochie Man 4:54

6. Please Call Home 4:00

7. Leave My Blues At Home 4:15

Additional Information

Record Label Mobile Fidelity
Music Genre Pop - Rock